top of page
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • White Spotify Icon
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Icon White Apple Music
  • Amazon - White Circle

Feico Deutekom is a pianist, singer and arranger from The Netherlands, specializing in the work of contempory composers such as Philip Glass, Ryuichi Sakamoto and David Lang. Feico had an early introduction to music through his father, a jazz musician. Learning the piano during his childhood, he studied the works and styles of classical composers, before turning more towards  minimal music and neo-classical music. 

Co-founder of the Attacca Ensemble, Feico has given concerts both as a pianist and as a singer of minimal and repetitive music ranging from Philip Glass, David Lang to Arvo Pӓrt. Highlights on the Ensemble's repertory are the concert version of Philip Glass' Einstein on the Beach, in which he sang and played keyboards, Glass Another Look at Harmony Part 4, Arvo Pӓrt's Kanon Pokajaanen and David Lang's Little Match Girl Passion. Together with harpist Lavinia Meijer Feico and the Attacca Ensemble have toured all major stages in The Netherlands with a theatre program around Philip Glass music.

Feico is a regular guest player at concerts of Philip Glass in The Netherlands. At these concerts he has performed music from Einstein on the Beach, Akhnaten, Music in Similar Motion, Hydrogen Jukebox and The Photographer. He has played quatre mains together with Philip Glass (The Chase), with singer Tara Hugo he has done songs from The Book of Longing. In 2023 Feico started appearing as a guest player of the Philip Glass Ensemble for their live performances of the iconic movie Koyaanisqatsi.

Feico co-founded the Floe Ensemble with which he made an overwhelming debut in October 2017 during one of Philip Glass's concerts in Amsterdam, performing parts of the multi-media theatre work The Photographer by Philip Glass and director Rob Malasch.

Feico plays regularly in concert together with other artists. With harpist Lavinia Meijer he  played as a harp/piano duo. Composer Douwe Eisenga wrote a piece for them titled Chants d'Hiver. With Lavinia Feico has arranged various music for harp and piano by Glass, Wim Mertens, Yann Tiersen, Meredith Monk and Michael Nyman. 

FEICO SOLO is the title of Feico's debut piano cd, released by Zefir Records in 2018, with compositions by Philip Glass, David Lang, John Adams, Nils Frahm, Douwe Eisenga and Ryuichi Sakamoto. It includes 3 pieces from Glass's score for the movie Mishima, arranged for solo piano with the composers permission. The album received critical acclaim internationally, most notably from The album also featured as CD OF THE WEEK on Dutch national radio NPO 4 in June 2018.

 Feico's newest album PHILIP GLASS - A MUSICAL OFFERING was internationally released by Orange Mountain Music, the composers label of Philip Glass, on January 31st 2020, the 83rd birthday of the composer. It is the product of the personal collaboration with Glass and includes various piano arrangements that Feico made of compositions that Glass wrote for orchestra, ensemble or string quartet. Since the release it is one of the best sold and most often streamed classical albums.   

On April 19th 2024 Orange Mountain Music will release Feico's third album with the Piano Etudes of Philip Glass.


Feico Deutekom

bottom of page